Sanctions and Export Controlled countries (OEC)

It is the policy of Duke University to fully abide by all federal and state laws and regulations that pertain to Sanctions and Export Controls, including but not limited to the International Traffic in Arms Regulations (ITAR), Export Administration Regulations (EAR), and the Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) sanctions and embargoes regulations.

To ensure Duke University researchers and staff remain compliant with U.S. laws implementing sanctions on certain countries – listed below – you must be cleared in advance of travel by the Office of Export Controls.

  • Belarus
  • Cuba
  • Iran
  • North Korea
  • Russia
  • Syria

Please note that due to U.S. sanctions on the above-countries, if you are eligible for CIGNA Medical Benefits Abroad international traveler health insurance, direct payment to medical providers/facilities and Guarantees of Payment cannot be issued. However, coverage may still apply and it would be administered via reimbursement, after self paying at the time of service. Please contact if you have any questions.

War Risk Countries (CRM)

Duke’s travel accident insurance policy excludes "war risk" exposures for travelers who visit the countries listed below. Coverage for any accidents/injuries/loss arising out of “war or any act of war, whether declared or not” would be the responsibility of the traveler. Please contact Corporate Risk Management for additional information.

  • Belarus
  • Israel
  • Lebanon
  • Russia
  • Ukraine